FNGLA celebrates Industry Award Winners & Industry Successes

Posted On 11 Jul 2014
By :
Comment: Off

fngla_200ORLANDO, USA: Each year, the Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscape Association (FNGLA) honors a distinct group of individuals who contribute time and energy into enhancing, protecting and serving Florida’s nursery and landscape industry through the FNGLA Industry Awards Program. This year’s winners were honored during FNGLA’s Annual Convention in Ponte Vedra Beach on Saturday, June 21.

FNGLA’s Industry Awards Program acknowledges both FNGLA and industry service – with varying criteria geared for each award. Nominations are accepted from the industry-at-large and winners are selected by a committee of industry peers.

The Wendell Butler Award and the FNGLA Hall of Fame are recognized as the most prestigious awards given by FNGLA. The Wendell Butler Award is presented for service to FNGLA and the FNGLA Hall of Fame Award is a lifetime achievement award

FNGLA Hall of Fame Inductees:

Jake Koornneef, deceased

Delray Plants Co. (Venus, FL)

Larry Walker, deceased

Nurserymen’s Sure-Gro Corp. (Vero Beach, FL)

Wendell E. Butler Award:

Chet Peckett

Peckett’s, Inc. (Apopka, FL)

Farm Credit / FNGLA Young Nursery Professional:

Ty Strode

Agri-Starts, Inc. (Apopka, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Volunteer Member:

Mike Tevelonis

Botanics Wholesale (Homestead, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Educator:

Erin Harlow

Duval County Extension, UF/IFAS (Jacksonville, FL)

About the Author