ONLA Scholarships presented to 15 Students across Ohio

Posted On 07 Feb 2014
By :
Comment: Off

untitledWESTERVILLE, Ohio: The Ohio Nursery and Landscape Association (ONLA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 ONLA Scholarship Program. The scholarships were distributed during the ONLA Luncheon & Business Meeting held Tuesday, January 14, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Columbus, Ohio.

Given in memory of Dr. Phil Kozel, former Professor of Horticulture at The Ohio State University, the ONLA Scholarship Program has given over $500,000 in the last 20 years to deserving horticulture students throughout Ohio. Dr. Kozel was also director of the Shade Tree Evaluation Program until his untimely death in 1979. Dr. Kozel was a long time ONLA supporter and the organization is honored to present these awards in his name.

The ONLA was proud to present a total of 15 scholarships totaling $15,500 in scholarship support this year. Scholarships were awarded based upon academic achievement, school involvement, extracurricular activities and interest in horticulture.

The President’s Scholarship is awarded through the Ohio Nursery & Landscape Association’s Scholarship Fund administered by the Academic Excellence Foundation (AEF). This scholarship is awarded to the highest scoring applicant in the judging process. The 2014 President’s Scholarship winner is Amy Miller from The Ohio State University.

Other winners of the 2014 ONLA/Phil Kozel Memorial Scholarship Program include: Jared Champion (The Ohio State University), Amy Day (Cincinnati State Technical & Community College), John DiFranco (The Ohio State University), Sarah Fenske (Cincinnati State Technical & Community College), Jeff Fox (Clark State Community College), Michelle Keip (Owens Community College), William Queen (Clark State Community College), Hillary Rader (The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute), and Maggie Rigney (University of Cincinnati).

A student from the University of Cincinnati was awarded an ONLA scholarship made possible through the generosity of the Southwest Ohio Environmental Horticulture Association (commonly referred to as “SOEHA”). Although the group disbanded in 2001, SOEHA decided to donate all remaining organizational monies to a scholarship fund in honor of Lloyd W. Kennedy, to be administered by the ONLA. Each year, a student at one of the Southwestern Ohio colleges (Clark State Community College, the University of Cincinnati, and Cincinnati State Technical & Community College) is selected to receive this scholarship. The 2014 SOEHA scholarship recipient is Melissa Kichler from the University of Cincinnati.

In January 2013, in an effort to continue to grow the Ohio Nursery & Landscape Scholarship fund, the ONLA issued a challenge to its members. The ONLA pledged to match any member who became an Academic Excellence Foundation (AEF) Ambassador level member ($25,000). Kent Fullmer, Fullmer’s Landscaping Inc. accepted the challenge by donating $25,000 to the AEF. The Artist in Landscape Design Scholarship by Fullmer’s Landscaping offers a $2000 scholarship every two years to a student studying in the horticultural field and attending school in the Tri-State area. The 2014 Artist in Landscape Design Scholarship by Fullmer’s Landscaping winner is Nall Inshan Moonilall from The Ohio State University.

In 2011, Bryan A. Champion, president of Herman Losely and Son, Inc. located in Perry, Ohio, passed away at the age of 47. Champion was diagnosed with cancer in 2007, and fought a courageous 4-year battle to try to beat the devastating disease. Champion was a 5th generation nurseryman with a passion for the nursery and landscape industry. During his career he was involved with local, state and national associations that represent the industry. He sought to advance the industry through sound leadership, volunteer participation, and peer-to-peer networking and education events. In honor of Champion’s legacy and dedication to the nursery and landscape industry, donations from his peers established The Bryan A. Champion Memorial Scholarship Fund. The winner this year is Joshua Henry from The Ohio State University.

This year, two scholarships were given to high school FFA students. The winners were Ross Clark (Mayfield High School), and Jessica Miller (Lorain County JVS).

The ONLA’s annual convention, the Central Environmental Nursery Trade Show (CENTS), is scheduled January 7-9, 2015, at the Greater Columbus Convention Center and Hyatt Regency Hotel, Columbus. The trade show is open only to persons in the nursery and landscape industry.

About the Author